about south port

about south port

Board of Directors

South Port is governed by a Board of 6 Independent Directors. They are:

Rex Chapman - Chairman - Independent Director


Appointed October 2002

Mr Chapman is a Senior Partner in Southland/Queenstown Law Firm Cruickshank Pryde based in Invercargill. He has been in legal practice in Invercargill for 39 years. Mr Chapman’s practice covers a wide range of legal services including commercial and company law, litigation, dispute resolution and resource management. He is also a member of the Southland Aquaculture Working Group established to promote and support the development of sustainable aquaculture in Southland.

Philip Cory-Wright - Independent Director

BCA, LLB (Hons), CFInstD

Appointed September 2010

Mr Cory-Wright is a Company Director and a Strategic Adviser based in Auckland. He is inaugural Chairman of Papa Rererangi i Puketapu (New Plymouth Airport) and a Director of Matariki Forests, the Local Government Funding Agency and Powerco.

Mr Cory-Wright was previously a member of the Local Government Infrastructure Expert Advisory Group. He has specialised in infrastructure businesses and recent roles include being acting Chief Financial Officer of Restaurant Brands, and an Adviser to Kordia, Ballance Agri-Nutrients, Auckland Airport, ACC and Higgins Group Holdings.

Thomas Foggo - Independent Director

Appointed October 2003

Mr Foggo moved to semi-retirement from Sanford Limited in late 2017 after 37 years in various Senior Management positions. His experience in the aquaculture industry has led to his continued involvement in the Southland Regional Development Strategy’s New Business Action Team.

Mr Foggo established the Youth Development Southland Regional Trust to oversee Kiwi Can in the region and worked to kick-start the funding for the programme locally.

Mr Foggo’s future focus is on professional governance opportunities.

Nicola Greer - Independent Director

MCom (Hons)

Appointed 8 November 2019

Ms Greer is a Company Director based in Queenstown. She is currently a Director of Airways Corporation, Fidelity Life Assurance Ltd, NZ Railways Corporation and a member of the NZ Markets Disciplinary Tribunal. She is also a shareholder and Director in a privately owned commercial property investment and development company.

Prior to her governance career, Nicola had extensive experience in NZ, Australia and the UK in the banking and finance sectors. This encompassed a range of roles within the financial markets and asset and liability management at ANZ, Citibank and Goldman Sachs.

Clare Kearney - Independent Director

BAgSci, MProfStuds(Linc) CMInstD

Appointed October 2016

Mrs Kearney’s background is in Agriculture and Farm Business Management Consulting. She is a Judicial Justice of the Peace.

Mrs Kearney is Chairperson of Sport Otago and Waitaki Safer Community Trust. Formerly, an interim Board member of NZ Alpine Club and and Chair of Network Waitaki Ltd. Mrs Kearney was the 2014 winner of the Institute of Directors Otago Branch Aspiring Director Award. Mrs Kearney acted as an observer director to the Dunedin City Holdings subsidiary company Taieri Gorge Railway Ltd during 2015.

Jeremy McClean - Independent Director

BCom, CA, MInstD

Appointed September 2011

Mr McClean is a Chartered Accountant with nearly 40 years of public practice in the southern region. He is a Principal in Invercargill accounting firm Malloch McClean, holds a Public Practice Certificate with Chartered Accountants Australia New Zealand and is a Justice of the Peace.

Mr McClean provides strategic, succession, tax advisory and governance services to a significant portfolio of local agri and commercial businesses. He also enjoys mentoring young business leaders to grow smarter better businesses that balance the needs of work, family and the community.